Reviews

Vistage 8 Lee G. 5/5

The experience of staying at 14 Oaks Ranch was a memorable and an unbelievable experience. I can feel myself beginning to unwind in stages, from the busy city life, the moment I arrived. As I entered the main house each room was identified with a theme and was enhanced with western artifacts. It made each room inviting and uniquely charming. Walking to the Indian artifacts was very interesting and a worthwhile stroll. Learning about the mines in the area, nature and the animals that thrive at the foothills of the Sierras was educational. The view from the porch was spectacular. At night you see no city lights but the stars are a show in themselves. Seeing zebra, walking among the buffalo (bison in North America) and feeding them was a new experience I felt by the end of our stay I was gone for 3 times as long and wished I booked my stay longer. I will return...

08/30/2012 at 5:08 AM

 

A Slice of Heaven! 5/5

The 14 Oaks Ranch is a slice of heaven. The majestic Butte mountains, rolling green hills, and endless oak trees are incredible. Having the opportunity to feed buffalo, zebras, cows, and horses made it a trip of a lifetime. Terry and Roberta are incredibly hospitable and the house is spacious and comfortable! Can't wait to go back!

10/17/2012 at 12:32 AM

 

 Cal State Chico Graduation-Family and Friends 5/5

Our sincere gratitude to the owners and the caretakers, Roberta and Terry, for the unbelievable hospitality, kindness and genuine friendly attitude during our stay. The ranch is amazing, the accommodations are perfect, the privacy and seclusion is breathtaking. If you want to get away from the hustle of city life, this ranch is perfect. Terry and Roberta make you feel like family and will support you in whatever your needs are. We had 14 people in the main house, and it could not have been better, the horse shoes, the shuffle board, skeet shooting and beauty is 5 star all the way. I would recommend to any/all that are looking for seclusion, whether it is for a team building event or a family get away. Practice on your turkey calls and have fun with the wild turkeys that wonder through the yard. Perfect, thank you so much.

05/23/2016 at 6:29 PM

 

Family fun at the Ranch! Christine S. 5/5

Had a family reunion with ~ 30 family members and was perfect spot! Debbie, Terry & Roberta were all VERY helpful before and during our stay. Was a very hot weekend, but both houses had AC and good breeze on porch when it cooled down. Nice BBQ and fire pit where we roasted marshmallows for s'mores. We were driven down to feed the animals in the morning in back of pick up trucks which added to our mini safari with our borrowed cowboy hats they have at the ranch. Kids and adults had fun feeding the zebras, cows, alpaca and looking at the beautiful bison. Zebras ran along side of the truck on way down because they knew we were bringing them treats. =) Terry spent hours with us in the afternoon skeet shooting and was patient to show the beginners everything we needed to know. Even grandma shot the gun. Thanks!! Kids had fun running around on green grass having water fight while others played horse shoes or just relaxed on the porch in one of the rocking chairs. House had lots of amenities and closet full of nice blow up mattresses for all to use and few pull out couches too. Had 28 people total sleeping in both houses and it worked great. Note that you will travel several miles on gravel road but it added to the adventure. Directions provided helped everyone arrive even a few when it was dark. Thanks to everyone at 14 Oaks Ranch for making our stay so special and so much fun! You are all great!! =)

07/31/2018 at 6:16 PM

 

Ranch fun! Livia H. 5/5

We had 8 families staying at the ranch and it was a fantastic time of relaxing and spending time together. The kids loved all the lawn games and the wading pool and the adults loved that the kids entertained each other so we could hang out and catch up. It was the perfect spot for a large group getaway and there was enough space so that you could be part of a large group or get away for some quiet time if you needed. A note on the setup - the main house has 4 bedrooms and common space and a kitchen and fantastic porch. The second house has 4 bedrooms set up as individual "hotel rooms" each with a separate entrance and bathroom (and no common space). It worked perfectly for our group as we mainly hung out on the porch and around the large dining table.

07/08/2019 at 10:34 PM

 

Great Weekend Anija M. 5/5

Our group of 21 had a splendid time! Very relaxing, entertaining, soul-satisfying! The porch was magical!

07/23/2019 at 12:35 AM

 

A great place for big families or friends Krupa N. 5/5

We were a set of friends (more like family) that stayed here over the Labor day weekend. We loved the place. The pictures don't do much justice! The porch was our favorite, you (and a lot of you) can sit out there for hours on end. The kids played on the lawn and we were chilling on the porch. Our most favorite part was spending time outside during night. You are surrounded by the ranch lands with no city lights in sight, giving you the most amazing night sky views - from a glimpse of the Milky way, to a clear view of the Hubble telescope and numerous shooting stars... We loved the serenity and the kids loved spotting constellations, planets and stars. We had coyotes howling in the backdrop, but were able to enjoy it all within the safety of the electric fencing they have going around the property :). The fire pit was great too... we spent almost every night out there. We were about a dozen adults and 8 kids. There was plenty of room for us all both in the 8 bedrooms as well in the common areas. They have tons of extra bedding, numerous air beds and sleeping bags. For those who need to escape to privacy, the guest house with it's 4 rooms and baths was a great option. The kitchen counter may be a bit cramped for a lot of cooks, but that's hardly any issue. Terri and Roberta, who are available close by were awesome. Terri gave us a great tour of the ranch and farm - the zebras were a huge hit with kids. They even offered to do a grocery run for us which was super helpful. We can't wait to go back there again.

09/13/2019 at 9:20 PM

 

Beautiful property Jessica J. 5/5

This ranch is one of the coolest places our family has visited. There is plenty of room for big groups. We loved the outdoor fire pit for s’mores and so many cool animals for the kids. Definitely a place where we would return

01/05/2020 at 11:59 PM

The Gift of Heaven at 14 Oaks 5/5

I have traveled to many places near and far. Most times, while I enjoy the adventure to a new place, I have had the “been there done that” mindset and when thinking about a new getaway or vacation I opted for something new.

14 Oaks is an exception to this rule - it is a home away from home - it is a piece of heaven on earth. We’ve have been to 14 Oaks three years in a row with our 6yo son. Every time we come back it feels old and familiar yet new and exciting at the same time. Our intention is to make this a family tradition and come back every year.

The ranch has so many things to do…. from bird watching to hiking to the creek which has wild mint and berry bushes to mini animal safari right on the ranch. The property keepers Terry and Roberta are amazing and go out of their way to make sure you have a great time! Terry has a lot of amazing stories about the area and the life on the ranch that we never seem to get enough of.  I could rant on about all the amazing things and experiences but will digress and say that staying at 14 Oaks exceeds all my expectations!

 

Julia Plotkina

2/14/2020

Image by Teo Duldulao

© 2020 by  www.14oaks.com    |